Constructed in 1825 on the ruins of a flour mill, the Phare de By (By Lighthouse) is located 300 metres from Gironde, on land 15 meters above water level, where vines have been cultivated for centuries. At the heart of a 94-hectare family estate stands the Château de La Tour de By, the gem of Médoc elegance constructed in 1876 by Monsieur Rubichon, son-in-law of the Count of Grammont. But after being resold at the start of the 1960s to a member of parliament, Monsieur Kaskoreff, the estate was almost abandoned. Its renaissance would come in 1965 when three repatriates returning from Tunisia acquired it. Amongst them, Marc Pagès, an agronomic engineer by training, intended to restore the estate to its former glory. The following year, he met Professor Émile Peynaud who would shortly become the first consultant oenologist of the Château de la Tour de By. The desire to produce upper-end wines would soon be rewarded in 1983 with admission to the Union des Grands Crus de Bordeaux, then in 2003 when Château de la Tour de By attained the level of "Cru Bourgeois Supérieur" (Superior Bourgeois Cru).
Marc Pagès died on July 4, 2007. In honor of their grandfather, Frédéric Le Clerc and Benjamin Richer de Forges decide to bring up to date the famous Cuvée Prestige, created by himself and his friend Émile Peynaud from the exceptional vintage 1982. They rename it "Heritage Marc Pagès". This exceptional wine reveals the quintessence of the terroir and the know-how of La Tour de By castle.
Came from the oldest vines and the best plots, this prestigious wine is for balanced, finely scented wines fruit and elegance, and an excellent aging ability.